Online since August 2002

Purest power pop

Reviewed November 2006

Liberation Transmission
Liberation Transmission
By Lost Prophets

Columbia Records: 2006

To hear sound clips or learn more about this release, Turbula recommends viewing its Amazon.com entry.

"Every song a hit" – that seems to be the motto of the Welsh combo Lost Prophets on their third outing, "Liberation Transmission." It's hard to remember another album that had so many radio-friendly, hook-filled songs. With thick, wall-of-sound production, the super-smooth lead vocals of Ian Watkins, and a generous helping of punk and grunge edginess to separate them from the pure pop acts, Lost Prophets has a sound that seems tailor-made to tap into both mainstream and alternative audiences. Think of it as Duran Duran for a new generation.

Each of the 12 songs here could be issued as a single – and there's enough variety that were that happen, few would get bored with the succession. Built around luxuriant melodies and Watkins' confident singing, the songs on "Liberation Transmission" range from the power-pop of "A Town Called Hyprocisy" to the hard-rocking "The New Transmission" to the arena pop of "Rooftops (A Liberation Broadcast)" to the power ballad "4 a.m. Forever."

Pure ear candy, every one.

Review by Jim Trageser. Jim is a writer and editor living in Escondido, Calif., and was a contributor to the "Grove Press Guide to Blues on CD" (1993) and "The Routledge Encyclopedia of the Blues" (2005).

CD Review Archive | Music Home Page | Turbula Home Page